Steven Osborne



Steven Osborne is one of Britain’s foremost musicians, renowned for his idiomatic approach to a wide variety of repertoire from the mainstream classical works of Mozart, Beethoven and Brahms to the rarefied worlds of Messiaen, Tippett and Britten. He has won numerous awards and prizes including the 2009 Gramophone Award for his recording of Britten’s works for piano and orchestra, as well as first prize at both the Naumburg International Competition (New York) and Clara Haskil Competition.

Concerto performances take Steven Osborne to orchestras all over the world including recent visits to the NHK Symphony, Berlin Symphony, Deutsches Sinfonieorchester Berlin, Munich Philharmonic, Finnish Radio Symphony, Bergen Philharmonic, Residentie Orkest, Australian Chamber Orchestra and the Dallas Symphony Orchestra. With these orchestras he has enjoyed collaborations with conductors including Christoph von Dohnanyi, Alan Gilbert, Vladimir Ashkenazy, Sir Charles Mackerras, Ludovic Morlot, Leif Segerstam, Andrew Litton, Ingo Metzmacher, Vladimir Jurowski and Jukka-Pekka Saraste.

In the UK he works regularly with the major orchestras, especially with the Philharmonia, City of Birmingham Symphony and BBC Philharmonic Orchestras. His concerts are frequently broadcast by the BBC and he performs every year at the Wigmore Hall. He has made eight appearances at the Proms, most recently in September 2010 when he performed Rachmaninov Piano Concerto No 1.

Steven Osborne’s recitals of carefully crafted programmes are publically and critically acclaimed. He has performed in many of the world’s prestigious venues including the Konzerthaus Vienna, Amsterdam Concertgebouw, de Doelen Rotterdam, Philharmonie Berlin, Musikhalle Hamburg, Palais des Beaux Arts Brussels, De Singel, Suntory Hall Tokyo, Kennedy Center Washington and Carnegie Hall. His regular chamber music partners include Alban Gerhardt, Paul Lewis, Dietrich Henschel and Lisa Batiashvili.

Amongst the highlights of 2010/11, Osborne will perform with the London Philharmonic/.Jurowski (Beethoven), Yomiuri Nippon Symphony/Kalmar (Mozart), Stuttgart Philharmonic/Felz (Messiaen), Bergen Philharmonic/Mena (Messiaen), Hong Kong Philharmonic/Boyd (Mozart) and Sydney Symphony/Ashkenazy (Mozart). He completes his four part exploration of Schubert’s chamber music performing trios with Alban Gerhardt and Alina Ibragimova and the last three piano sonatas.

Steven Osborne has won many awards for his recordings on Hyperion. In addition to the Gramophone Award in 2009 (Britten), his recording of Rachmaninov’s 24 Preludes was short-listed for a Gramophone Award and won a Schallplattenpreis whilst being chosen as “Editor’s Choice” in Gramophone, BBC Music Magazine, International Record Review, Musical Opinion and The Daily Telegraph: “This is outstanding Rachmaninov playing of acute perception, discretion and poetic sensibility, limpid, powerful and luminous in equal measure.” BBC Music Magazine May 09.. His double CD of works by Tippett was nominated for a BBC Music Magazine Award and his CD of Messiaen’s complete Vingt regards sur l’enfant Jésus was also nominated for both a Gramophone Award and a Schallplattenpreis in Germany. Other recordings include Debussy’s complete Preludes, solo works by Alkan, Liszt Harmonies poetiques et religieuses, and solo works by Kapustin which was also nominated for a Schallplattenpreis. His latest recording of Beethoven sonatas was released in May 2010.

Born in Scotland in 1971, Steven Osborne studied with Richard Beauchamp at St. Mary's Music School in Edinburgh and Renna Kellaway at the Royal Northern College of Music in Manchester.

 In 15/16 season,

Osborne  will apper on three concerts at Milton Court  including a concert with the Britten Sinfonia and Eddie Gomez as part of the London Jazz Festival.

Also he is going to perform with the Gurzenich Orchester Koln c. Louis Langree (Ravel), Finnish Radio Symphony (Shostakovich), Royal Scottish National Orchestra c. Stephane Deneve (Ravel), Iceland Symphony, Orchestre Philharmonique de Monte Carlo and City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra c. Ludovic Morlot (Ravel).

  In Oct 2015 and May 2016, two CD is going to be released:Schubert miniatures and solo works by Crumb and Feldman.

Osborn will  recordsboth Ravel Concertos together with de Falla Nights in the Gardens of Spain with the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra c. Ludovic Morlot

Further ahead he will be Artist in Residence with the City of Birmingham Symphony in 16/17.




  • ベートーヴェン:ピアノ・ソナタ集《月光》《悲愴》、ソナタ第25番《ワルトシュタイン》2011.04.21 on sale
  • ラヴェル:ピアノ独奏作品全集2011.01.21 on sale
  • シューベルト:ピアノ・デュオ集2010.10.29 on sale HMV Amazon Tower Records
  • ラフマニノフ:24の前奏曲2009.04.28 on sale
  • ブリテン:ピアノと管弦楽のための作品2008.08.28 on sale HMV Amazon Tower Records
  • ティペット:ピアノのための作品全集2007.10.20 on sale Amazon Tower Records
  • ドビュッシー:前奏曲全集2006.08.19 on sale
  • アルカン:エスキス全集2003.06.21 on sale HMV Tower Records
  • メシアン:幼な子イエスにそそぐ20の眼差し2002.10.31 on sale
  • カプースチン:ピアノ・ソナタ2001.12.31 on sale