Trouvère Quartet

Saxophone Quartet


Nobuya Sugawa, Soprano Sax

Shinichiro Hikosaka, Alto Sax

Keisuke Jimbo, Tenor Sax

Yasuto Tanaka, Baritone Sax


Trouvère Quartet was formed in 1987 with Japanese top saxophonists - Nobuya Sugawa, Shin-ichiro Hikosaka, Yasushi Arai and Yasuto Tanaka.

The Quartet has been the prizewinners in numerous competitions including the second prize at the Tokyo International Music Competition in 1992 as well as the Fifth Japan Brass Academy Award.  The members are also frequently in demand as concert soloists in their own right.

  In 2000, Trouvère Quartet was invited to Holland for the Commemoration of 400 Years of Dutch-Japanese Relations.

The Quartet has released many CDs for Toshiba-EMI and the album, that released in 2001,  “A Homage to Marcel Mule” received the National Arts Festival Grand Prize.

Their CD “The Planets by Trouvère” (The Planets by Holst arranged by J. Nagao) is highly acclaimed.

The latest CD is " Tipsy Tune" released by Imagine Best Collection in 2017.

In 2017, they marked 30th anniversary of their activities.


  • My Favorite Things1994.11.30 on sale Amazon
  • イノセント・ドールズ1994.01.19 on sale Amazon